Sharks, Impulse Nerd Buys & Infallible AmEx Customer Servie

OK, I make insane impulse buys all the time. It’s why I own every internet funny-for-1-week t-shirt on the planet (exhibits A & B: 3 wolf moon shirt, 3 wolf moon: keyboard cat remix shirt). So it should come as no suprise that my mind & wallet were blown today upon seeing (shamefully I confess, given the self proclaimed mayor of the interwebs should not see something for the first time at almost 2MM views) the Air Swimmers video. The good news: fellow BBH’er Brian Moore had ordered one already and it was being delivered today. The bad news: he went with the clown fish instead of the far superior shark, violating the only principle any good man lives by.

 

So, I acted quickly and foolishly. I called AmEx’s concierge service and ordered 50 Air Swimmer sharks (a quick check of the internet implied I would have to wait weeks to get one of these in-demand items) on the condition AmEx could deliver them to our office today*. Even in that state of mind, I knew we’d have forgotten about the damn sharks by tomorrow (exhibit A: we just sold our agency MakerBot after months of inactivity). Nintely minutes later I received a voicemail. An hour after that, I received this follow-up email. If this doesn’t make you want to go out and get an AmEx, I’m not sure what possibly could. 

Man I love customer service.

/ / / / / / / 

Dear Mr. Saneel Radia,  

It was a pleasure to assist you in researching your request for Air Swimmers.  I hope you received my voice mail, but in case you did not, I will also send the information you requested by email.

I am delighted to have found local retailers who have this the shark model of this item in stock, however no store has 50 in one location.  The exclusive retailers are FAO Schwartz and Toys R US.  FAO Schwartz which has 34 sharks for sale closed at 7:00PM today.  The earliest they can send a messenger is in the morning after 10:00AM.  The delivery is $75.00 and will take about 3 hours from the time the order is placed.  they charge $58.99 before tax.

Between the two Toys R Us Stores, I located a total of 23 sharks at the Times Square Store and 20 sharks (have 30 clown fish) at $49.99 before tax.  The manager is willing to arrange for the fish to be at one location but they do have a delivery messenger.  An overnight delivery might be able to be arranged or you can arrange for your own messenger to pick up the items. Both stores are open until 9:00PM tonight.. The item comes with a  9-Volt battery for the remote. The toy requires 1 AAA battery and helium to fly it.

Below, please find the stores that have the Air Swimmer shark model in stock: 

Toys R Us – Times Square 
1514 Broadway at 44th Street
New York, NY 10036
Times Square
646-366-8800 
http://www1.toysrus.com/timessquare/dsp_home.cfm 

Toys R Us – Holiday Express 
901 AVE OF THE AMERICAS NEW YORK NY 10001 
646-239-7306 
http://www.toysrus.com

The Toys “R” Us Times Square location is the largest in the world.  It contains a 60 foot Ferris wheel inside the building as well as Barbie’s Dollhouse, a 20 foot tall animatronics T-Rex from the movie Jurassic Park, a 5,500 square foot electronics center called “R Zone” and don’t forget about the TOYS!

FAO Schwarz 
767 Fifth Ave.
New York, NY 10153
Midtown East
212-644-9400 
http://www.fao.com/ 

I am sorry I could not find a store that can deliver for you this evening.  If you would like to pick the 43 air swimmers (shark model) up at a local Toys R Us before 9:00PM this evening, we are happy to make the purchase on your behalf.  If you have any questions, or need any further assistance in obtaining the air swimmers, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I can be reached at 1-800-525-3355 and when prompted, please say Concierge. Alternatively, if you would like to contact me via email, I can be reached at platinumrequests@concierge.americanexpress.com. I look forward to being of assistance to you in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Tina [last name removed]
American Express Platinum Concierge
1-800-525-3355, Concierge
platinumrequests@concierge.americanexpress.com 

*Update: This was not a BBH expense. I was buying these for myself so don’t panic about agency spending habits my dear clients.

 

4 thoughts on “Sharks, Impulse Nerd Buys & Infallible AmEx Customer Servie

  1. Pingback: If Software Is Eating The World, Why Isn’t Goliath Using His Teeth? | Loyal to Optimus

Leave a Reply

